Worship Team Drummer Update

I thought I would do a quick update on the fact that I recently joined the worship team with the church that Sarah and I attend in South Austin. With that in mind, here you go…

Honestly, I am not sure how long I have been on the team now. All I can say is that it goes quick. It feels like I have already been the drummer for the church for close to 4 or 5 months. It probably hasn’t been quite that long, but it feels like it.

unnamed

I am going to be honest and say that, although it feels great to finally be playing drums on a regular basis, it would be a bit more exciting to be thrashing some blast beats or some progressive experiential math rock.

Regardless, it feels great to be part of the team. Don’t get me wrong… most worship style music is pretty basic (I think we have only played one 3/4 song since I started). Being on the team has been a blessing for sure. It feels good to have the opportunity to serve in that capacity. As a result, my guitar made its way out of the closet and got tuned up after like 4 years of just collecting dust. I wrote a song with the worship leader recently (Psalms 61). We recorded it with another friend and it is still in production. Having said that, being on this team has been a big deal for me. I have that itch to write again. I have that itch to record again. Hopefully in the near future I will put together a new EP.

Leave a Reply

