5 years is a long time ~ a heart that longs for song

Most of the time I tend to post about why I know NASA is fake or the fact that the CPHEC is absolutely littered with holes which makes it not at all close to the truth. But today… today’s post is more of a thanks and praise be to God type of post.

If you didn’t know this, I spent a pretty large chunk of my mid to late 20’s as a full time singer-songwriter. I experienced a lot of life during that time. It is even how I met and married my wife. As a result, it is essentially why I now find myself living in Austin, Texas. Because, at the end of the day had I not met Sarah, I would probably be back in Florida now. With that said, this time in my life as a singer-songwriter really did impact how life turned out for me in my 30’s.

With the release of my last album, Mother of Harlots, being released in 2011, my wife and I toured that album for the better part of 2012. After that however, God moved us in a different direction. Since then I haven’t really played music at all. My guitar and other gear have been tucked away in the closet… and my drums had been given away long before that.

I have always told myself that if I were to get back into music it would be as a supporting member of a church worship team rather than something that was focused on me specifically. And honestly, when we moved to Austin (live music capital of the US) I just knew that I would be out of luck. What church would I ever attend in live music capital of America that was in need of musicians? I just knew that every church in this town was going to be flooded with talent.

unnamed

So, after just a short time of being at Calvary South Austin I was totally taken off guard when the drummer stepped down and started going to another fellowship and saw that no other drummers were stepping forward. This honestly made no sense to me. Surely, in live music capital of the US, there would be drummers a plenty at every single church just waiting for their turn to serve on the team.

Which brings me to a long time coming answer to prayer.

My prayer over the last 5 years has been that God would bring me back to music for His glory. And somehow, in some way, He did. Not only have I started serving within the church to that capacity, but God has brought with it a new group of friends who are willing and eager to create music as well.

1

Today, a few of us got together for the first time to just jam-write-record some tracks. Obviously, since it was our first go at doing something like that it was a little rocky, but even still. God is good. I am beyond blessed to see God moving me back into music like this. The last 5 years without it have been rather quiet.

My new prayer is that things start getting a little rowdy. And from how things have been going since we moved here, it looks like that might be the case for my future in music. God is doing a work. I can’t wait to see what He does, because let’s face it… I miss music and I am beyond blessed to be doing it again.

Leave a Reply

