New tunes for a heart that longs for Christ

Well, it has been a while since I took the time to dig into finding any new bands to get into. And well, I have to say… I stumbled across two that I officially felt need a shout out.

The first one is called Those Who Fear. They are pretty much a culmination of all things doom metal (also known as deathcore). They remind me of bands like Impending Doom, Oceano, and Emure. The upside to this band (like Impending Doom), is that they are Christian through and through.

30141_I6Rqn-MFwr25Ep4r_15669

The other band is called Rivers and Robots. Now, I am not much of a fan in the band name, but I have to say… I have found it very hard to get into worship music as a Christian over the course of the last several years. It just seems commercialized these days and holds no true depth of character, but instead focuses on the “formula” for the sake of success. This band is not like that at all. They remind me a lot of a band called Band of Horses. Only, these guys are downright worship that comes straight from the heart without question. My heart is pulled in so many directions while listening to these guys. They are currently my favorite worship band. And that is saying a lot considering how I have felt for so long about the commercialization of the genre.

bd3487a3e3414cc8abb5c7626d612002

With that said, I am thankful for the God fearing Christians out there that are honing their crafts as musicians seeking to glorify the name of Jesus Christ, our savior. Finding these two bands has been refreshing indeed.

Leave a Reply

